If you have ever rented (especially in Brighton), you know that often you move in and have to spend a while…de-uglifying it; sometimes you have to seriously question the sanity of the landlord!

So our new bathroom was completely void of any sort of style or aesthetic, not even a boring but easily customisable ‘all white’ theme. There was a horrible BRIGHT RED Ikea mirror (I didn’t even think to get a ‘before’ picture, it offended my eyes so much) and these ugly as HELL tiles dotted in between the white ones.

After some googling, I came across sticky back vinyl that can be cut to the size of the tiles and VOILA, new tiles (almost). So I purchased some white marble style vinyl from B&Q and hoped it would look realistic enough to fool a casual bathroom user…well it might fool them with their eyes half closed, but to be honest the ugly tiles are hidden and that’s all that matters to me – especially as I may be moving again in six months.

Here are the dreaded tiles ‘before’:


Here is a nice ‘in the moment’ shot of my DIYing:


And HERE is the final result:


A close up of the mirror I deIKEAfied with copper tape and some leftover marble vinyl:


So there we have it, the job is not perfect (the original tiles were all slightly wonky and so was my cutting so there’s a fair few ‘wonks’ going on), but it’s good enough for me 😊.

You can get loads of different prints on vinyl – from marble to wood to colourful patterns, so you can create any style you want!

Happy DIYing Sun People 🎨

Zoe x

Leave a Reply

