The Positive Side To Illness

Okay so let me first get this straight – being ill SUCKS.

Short term – long term, recently I’ve had a lot of it and on the whole it is a massive downer. 

There is of course a part of me that enjoys being able to re-watch my favourite series on Netflix all the way through, with only toilet breaks and the occaissional sleep to interrupt. However 6 days of this will make anyone bored – even if the show is amazing (Battlestar Galactica…don’t judge just watch). 

So of course I get down, really down. And this is to be expected if not welcomed. But luckily I also get this feeling, right towards the end, kinda like:

OMG I CAN’T GO BACK TO MY LIFE BEFORE, I’VE GOTTA DO SOMETHING – GOTTA IMPROVE MY LIFE AS SOON AS I’M BETTER! 

Not saying I hate my life but there are always aspects I want to improve, we all do, and to a certain extent that’s a good thing, as long as you’re not always chasing tomorrow. 

I want to start making things with my hands – jewellery or something, maybe terrariums, something beautiful that I can feel satisfied making and can sell for some pocket money.


I want to start cycling again, the weather is mostly good now and I think I’ve gained enough energy since the glandular fever to go on some regular short rides. 

I want to improve my career/income. I currently do freelance social media management and website design (we’re talking design here, not coding). This is good, this is great, I have a lot of flexibility to my weeks and I can actually pay my rent and bills autonomously – wahoo! However the only way is up right? I’ve had ideas and plans stewing quietly in my mind over the last couple of months and this illness is making me want to take ACTION. I’m bored of life right now, so I’m gonna SHAKE IT UP! 

So hopefully if you find yourself bedridden or under the weather for a prolonged period of time, you can start to see it as a gestation period, and a catalyst for change.

What do you want to change in your life?

Zoe x

Leave a Reply

