Going to the dentist’s.

I hate it.

It seems that every time I go, there’s some sort of pain that needs to happen now, or at some point in the future. I actually only have two fillings (white), but it seems as if every time I have ever been there has been some sort of issue that needs fixing or ‘watching’.

I recently went for a general check-up, and was told that I will need three fillings at some point in the near future.

THREE.

I AM NOT OKAY WITH THIS!

Each one will cost a minimum of £70, and I feel like I’ve failed my body by allowing this to happen. Things need to change.

Firstly, I’m going to start brushing my teeth at least twice a day. What? Didn’t I already do that? NO. Unfortunately my parents didn’t instil the habit of morning brushing – I didn’t even know people did it until I went round to a sleepover when I was 7 or so! And then, being 7, I simply felt smug that my parents didn’t make me do it. How naive of me.

Secondly, I am rinsing my mouth with water each time I eat something sugary or acidic (i.e. fruit), this dislodges any food trapped in-between teeth, which decay-causing bacteria would have a field day on.

Thirdly, I have just switched from a toothPASTE, to a toothPOWDER. Specifically, Nature Alive’s BIO-WHITE Peppermint. I met the rather eccentric creator of said toothpowder at the Infinity store in Brighton, and after a lengthy debate about correlations between diet, glycerin and tooth health, my interest was piqued. Apparently glycerin, the substance which gives toothpaste its gel-like texture, blocks the pore-like structures in your teeth which allows your saliva to ‘re-mineralise’ them (re-harden the enamel that naturally softens after eating).

Each pot will last you about a month and I’ve been using it for four days. It’s actually quite pleasant to use – it doesn’t foam much (which is great otherwise I gag) and it’s salinity makes it feel quite medicinal. However, the peppermint flavour isn’t very strong and will not leave you feeling minty fresh like most toothpastes do. Therefore, I’ve taken to swilling and gargling with salt water after brushing – as salt kills bacteria and leaves my breath fresher.

I’ve even heard that by using such toothpowders, allowing your saliva to re-mineralise your teeth, you can even HEAL YOUR CAVITIES. Yes, you heard me! There are quite a few bloggers out there who have posted miraculous reversed-cavity stories. This is great news for me, as I’d really rather not spend the money, nor feel the shame in having 3 more fillings. Of course, this is majorly dependent on your diet being packed full of vitamins, which your saliva will then carry to heal your teeth, so I’ll be making sure I eat as much as I can, particularly calcium! Luckily, I’ve been eating a calcium rich diet for about 6 weeks in order to heal my broken wrist – find out which vegan foods are high in calcium here.

So hopefully with these changes,  I can at least delay having to get more fillings until I can afford it, and maybe even reverse the cavities.

Fingers crossed!

Zoe

 

 

6 thoughts on “Can Tooth Powder Cure My Cavities?

  1. This is really interesting. I came across the powder for the first time today in my local Green store. The instructions are lacking and I wasn’t sure whether I needed to brush with a normal paste after using it…
    I’m going to try with just the powder for the next week and see how I feel about it. Great post, thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi! Any updates on how this toothpaste powder worked? Also live in Brighton and in need of a new natural toothpaste… thanks 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m on a similar journey… having to start from the beginning (all over) with commitment to brushing daily! Oh, don’t forget AND flossing – its amazing what stays in between the teeth that brushing doesn’t reach). I don’t know what the resistance is, but I find it so boring and tedious i prefer to forget it – but no more lol…

    I was between a rock and a hard place; I hate going to dentists on the one hand but on the other my teeth /gums were getting so bad, I feared the worst the longer I put it off. Eventually, I went and the prognosis wasn’t as bad as I had feared (compared to my paranoid nightmare fears) although, not good at all; overall a great relief to finally confront the matter.

    Decided to take control and also purchased Bio-White a couple weeks ago, and it feels good. I’ve had one visit to the hygienist and another coming soon and the results encourage me to maintain it this time. As you are my witness, lol..
    There are a couple cavities which they want to fill, of course, but I don’t hurt yet and I’d love to heal this NATURALLY – in both senses of the word.

    As much as Bio-White and other such-like tooth-powders might ‘encourage’ re-mineralization I don’t believe they can heal cavities. That’s more an inside out job until we get science stepping in which I hear they’re on the cusp of being able to.

    In the meantime I’ve wondered about the nutritional side. How did they get like this? Can they indeed be reversed? There was a spell when I attempted 80/10/10 until I got these sharp nerve pains that told me – STOP!

    In the endless pursuit of the right diet, I’ve heard a lot from both ends of the vegan-paleo spectrum which all sound good and make sense and contradict each other : )

    My guess is you’ve also come across Ramiel Nagel’s book on healing cavities who leans on WestonPrice’s studies on tooth health across indigenous cultures. Unfortunately, it is a diet heavy on animals, I say unfortunate, because I don’t want to be part of killing animals with all its implied cruelty (however ‘humanely’ grass-fed and conciously killed) and would rather not deal with the dilemma if its true, that this ‘ancestral’ diet is what our bodies require to be optimally healthy. It’s like my consciousness has evolved out of eating meat but my body is dragging behind; could it be? I hope not.
    If there is a common denominator it is grains=bad and processed foods and sugar=worse.
    After that HCLF vs LCHF still remains a mystery. I have to resist the temptation to depression, which leads me to getting my favorite chocolate bar with coffee…

    Like

Leave a Reply

